Working With Professional Photographers: Brian Blackwell

With only a week and a half left of 2018, I thought I would reflect a little on how it was working with a professional photographer this year. I have been blogging since 2017 and throughout that entire time my photos were taken by my biggest supporters. Yup, I’m talking about you Andrew, Mario, mom and dad, and some of you wonderful blogger babes I met this year!

Once upon a time, I was extremely camera shy. My first photo shoot as a fashion blogger was the most awkward and uncomfortable I had ever been because I couldn’t run away from the camera like I was so used to doing. I grew comfortable doing photo shoots around the closest people in my life who I trusted. With that said, I was very surprised to find myself agreeing so quickly to work with photographer, Brian Blackwell, from San Marcos, TX.

I follow a former Silverstar dancer for my hometown basketball team, the Spurs, named Desiree Hernandez. I loved how happy she looked all the time and her red hair. When not in her dance uniform, I noticed she modeled in her day-to-day clothes and I loved the way her photos came out. I started being a weirdo and going through all her photos and liking away. Little to my knowledge, Brian had taken these photos and noticed that it grabbed my attention. From there he looked at my page and thought I had cool style so he reached out to me. We scheduled our first shoot back in October of this year.

A lot of bloggers are intimidated to meet a photographer for the first time since we are always unsure who is legit and who isn’t. If you’re scheduled to meet with a photographer, look at the models they have worked with and if they are tagged, reach out to them and simply ask about what it was like working with the photographer you’re thinking of meeting up with. Another thing you can do is bring someone you trust with you to the photo shoot as long as it is acceptable to your photographer. Most photographers are okay with company as long as they are respectful and are not a distraction to either you or them.

On my photo shoots with Brian, I usually pack 3 different outfits and what has helped make my photos a success is to pay attention to what Brian tells me to do. Whenever I would pose in front of friends and family, I honestly did whatever felt right to me at that moment, but when working with a professional photographer, expect them to ask and advise you to do certain poses or facial expressions. Brian was very clear on what he needed from me, but at the same time, he would take the time to ask me about my day. I bring that up because talking about something outside of business helps build comfort between people.

Prior to Brian, I only took my photos around people I knew, but one of the things I really appreciated with Brian is that he is never late to a session. I arrived right on time for our first shoot and all I had to do was send him a message that I was there and next thing I knew, he was walking toward the spot we agreed to meet at. With that said, photographers appreciate when you’re on time too! Always be sure to have that respect for not just your time, but theirs too. Photographers like Brian travel out of their city to meet with people so remember to not ever do anything that would communicate that you are unappreciative towards their effort to meet up with you. Take responsibility and build trust.

Build confidence in between shoots and spark conversation. Your photographer is human too, ask them about their day! Ask them about how they got into photography in the first place and compliment them on some of their previous work. Don’t just think about yourself. As bloggers we talk about our own personal preferences a lot, but it’s also nice to show interest in the work others put out there as well. Brian caught my attention when he photographed Desiree a lot. He told me about her bubbly personality and how fun it is to shoot with her. I loved hearing that because Brian has done an incredible job capturing Desiree’s personality and character.

Based on working with Brian, here is my advice for how to prepare for a shoot:

  1. Pack 3-4 outfits (or whatever your photographer recommends)
  2. Make sure you’re wearing the appropriate undergarments for those outfits
  3. Pack a bottle of water to keep hydrated (I need to get better at this)
  4. Pack deodorant, makeup to touch up your current look, and makeup wipes to help change your look if needed.
  5. Pack hair ties and bobby pins to also change up your look between outfits
  6. Be in a good mood! No one wants to work with someone grumpy.
  7. Make sure you’re well rested. No one want to work with someone tired.
  8. Bring comfortable shoes if needed like a pair of flats.
  9. BE ON TIME
  10. Say thank you at the end of the shoot. They are doing you a HUGE favor.

Brian Blackwell is a photographer who will confirm days and times for a photo shoot with you. He is on top of scheduling and appointments so return the favor and keep up with it too. Brian also a professional who likes to make the most use out of his time. Don’t you hate when you feel like you wasted your time? So do photographers. Really try to avoid last minute cancellations especially if your photographer isn’t from the same city as you!

Working with Brian has given my page more attention so I always tag him in my posts so that the favor is returned. He has not constructed one yet (currently working on one!) but if your photographer has a contract, please take the time to read the fine print before you truly decide to work with them. Having your photos taken by a photographer is essentially a business relationship. Do not get yourself in a situation where you will look bad. Your image is everything. Pun totally intended hehehe.

Not just anyone can pick up a camera and make your shots look as great as a professional. Find a photographer you really like or a photographer others recommend and reach out. You’ll be so happy you did because it really does make a difference on your page, your confidence and your overall performance as a model.

If you want a photographer who is one time and helps you make your poses and facial expressions look better and you are in the San Marcos, San Antonio or Austin, TX, area, consider Brian Blackwell to be a photographer for you. I would recommend other photographers too, but Brian is the first and only one I’ve worked with so far. First impressions are everything and I was impressed with Brian. You can check out Brian’s website and Instagram page linked below:

See Brian’s website

See Brian’s Instagram Page

That’s all I have for you all today! I am so happy to be back to blogging. Have a great weekend and I will talk to you all later!

-Love Sara

Resized_20181220_094448_5190

One thought on “Working With Professional Photographers: Brian Blackwell”

Leave a comment