How To Get Over A Bad Day

Do any of you guys who drive feel that you have no sense of direction even with a GPS?

I personally have gotten better at finding me way around town ever since I started dating my boyfriend, but before he came into the picture, I only drove to work and school and occasionally to a friend’s house.

I will cut to the chase here for today’s blog topic and say that this has nothing to really do with fashion, but with life lessons and family.

As you guys know, back to school time is approaching everyone (or maybe it already has for you!) so a tradition in my family is to have dinner before the semester starts at a nice restaurant. My mom and I were dressed up in some of our favorite dresses and my dad wore a nice shirt, pants and some new dress shoes he just got. The three of us made our way out and told my older brother to meet us at the restaurant once he clocked out of work. We went to SaltGrass Steak House and ordered an appetizer. We were hoping my brother would be arriving any minute.

Time passed and it was time to place our orders so we did, including my brother’s order. Any minute now, he should be walking through that door.

More time passed when I decided to GPS on my phone how long it would take to get from my brother’s work to the restaurant. 10 minutes.

I saw that there was a red section on the highway so my family assumed that maybe my brother was just stuck in traffic. Then my mom’s phone lit up. My brother was calling so my mom answered. She started to ask where he was. She then hands the phone to my dad who grabs the phone and gets up from his seat. He makes his way outside the restaurant where it was quieter, leaving my mom and I at the table by ourselves. The food arrives before my dad does.

We wait more, not touching our food until my dad comes back. He comes back to the table looking flustered and says to my mom, “I don’t know where he’s at.”

My mom worriedly looks at my dad as he continues to explain that he went to the wrong location and continued to go back on the highway, but doesn’t recognize where he is at. My dad had just told my brother to go back on the highway, take the next exit, pull over and then call us back to better explain where he was. We continued to eat dinner and then my mom’s phone lit up again. My dad picks up and makes his way back outside, leaving my mom and I alone once again.

My mom tells me that she is worried that my dad was going to be super upset with my brother, and to be honest with you, even though I acted cool in front of my mom, I was worried about that too. My dad is gone even longer this time. My mom gets up to use the restroom and I am sitting alone at the table thinking to myself how this was supposed to be a nice dinner. A fun dinner. A nice and fun dinner with my family. That’s all I wanted.

My mom comes back from the restroom and looks even more worried and uncomfortable as she realizes that my dad still isn’t back yet.

My mom and I talk to each other in order to somewhat comfort each other when my dad finally gets back. He sits back down and exhales sharply and tells my mom, “I am just besides myself right now.” He goes on to vent about how he really doesn’t know how he could help my brother if my brother doesn’t know where he’s at or give him any full street name or anything. He goes on to tell us that he told my brother to GPS his way home the best he can and to not worry about the restaurant. We were almost done eating anyway.

Not having my brother for dinner wasn’t even the worst part. It was the uncomfortable yelling that my dad gave to my brother once he got home. So that brings me back here right now as I type. I am still in my dress. Makeup on, shoes on, hair done and everything, but my smile has disappeared. I hate when my dad gets after me, but I hate it most when he gets after my brother.

My Saturday was going so great up until this point, but a bad day does not mean a bad life. Here are my best tips on how to get over a bad day.

  1. Give yourself some privacy and just let it all out. Write it down, call a friend and vent, take a shower and cry in it, sing, dance, do exercise…do whatever it personally takes for you to get that negative energy out.
  2. Treat yourself to an at home spa. You can give yourself a pedicure, put a refreshing face mask on, prepare a warm bubble bath and relax, listen to music etc…
  3. Tell yourself that a bad day does not mean that you have a bad life. One thing I personally do is listen to motivational speeches on YouTube. It is really inspiring. You should try it 🙂
  4. Since you are already on YouTube, look up some funny videos! Kitten and Puppy videos are the best medicine. If you have Instagram, you can also find some cute videos on there. If animals aren’t your thing, look up something that is! Whether it is hair and makeup, vlogs, music videos, workout videos, documentaries, you name it!

I really hope these four tips help you guys get over a bad day. If there is something you do in order to get over a bad day that I may not have mentioned, but works for you, feel free to comment below! That is going to be it for today’s blog, but I want you all to know that I am feeling better already and I have only done step 1 out of 4 🙂 Thank you for reading and turn your frown upside down. Smiles never go out of style.

Stay stylish everyone.

One thought on “How To Get Over A Bad Day”

Leave a comment